Home > Results > Week 20 Results! And my colon says “Thumbs up, Jo”

Week 20 Results! And my colon says “Thumbs up, Jo”

After 20 Weeks on the Specific Carb Diet

  • Have been off prednisone, and ALL drugs, for about a month now.  After a few weeks of slightly elevated sedimentation rates, I am back in normal range.  Note that I have NOT had Crohn’s symptoms, despite the slightly elevated ESR levels- no stomach cramps, no pain, no urgency, and 1-2 BMs a day.  Things have been extremely manageable and I feel like I am controlling this disease.
  • Have had little stress this week, as I took a week off before starting my new job.
  • I have been doing yoga EVERY DAY this week and it has been amazing.  I truly, truly believe it’s assisting my digestion.

Something to note is that my MCHC level is slightly below the normal range, at 31.8 (normal is 32-35).  This shows slight anemia.  MCHC has not been an issue prior to this week, and I did eat more fish than chicken this week, which could have played a factor.  I will continue to monitor my MCHC levels in subsequent weeks- but it’s nothing I’m too concerned about right now, as I have had normal levels for each week prior to this one.  Will keep watchin’.

(Click to enlarge)

Categories: Results
  1. Sally
    01/29/2012 at 10:47 pm

    Thank you. You are an inspiration!!! I am trying to talk my daughter into trying this diet.

    • 01/30/2012 at 4:30 pm

      It may work- it may not work. But it absolutely will not hurt her to try it. Even those that haven’t achieved remission will say that it absolutely made their symptoms more manageable, and less painful. Good luck to your daughter!

  2. Nora
    01/30/2012 at 12:35 am

    Just curious – do you use other markers to check for anemia? Like hemoglobin and hematocrit? I doubt you have anything to worry about if those are normal. 🙂 My hemoglobin is still 9.5…yikes!

    • 01/30/2012 at 4:28 pm

      I do measure hemoglobin each time I check my bloodwork, and has been normal for all weeks with exception to Week 1, when I first started the diet anemic. And lady- your hemoglobin is way low!

      Are you taking vitamins? Super B, B12, Folic Acid, Vitamin C? Those are some that I take that really help me get nutrients that I’m not getting from SCD.

  3. Nora
    01/31/2012 at 6:16 am

    I’ve had iron-deficiency anemia for YEARS, long before colitis. I’ve been getting iron infusions now that the colitis symptoms are basically better but today I had a reaction to it! Hives from a basic essential nutrient mixed with sugar…frustrating stuff. I wonder what ingredients they didn’t tell me about. My hemoglobin’s been increasing on its own though – was 8.2 in the hospital two months ago. I have tons of iron in my diet yet still have a ferritin level of four. I’ll admit I’m not on the supplements you mentioned but it’s been established that my problem is mainly with iron absorption. My GI had me to stop taking my iron supplements when I was dx’ed because they’ve been indicated to sometimes CAUSE Crohn’s!!! Makes you wonder. Thanks for your concern but I am feeling good despite everything. Your body adapts to hemoglobin deficiency over time. Therefore it wouldn’t be the end of the world if you were anemic although I do hope you never are!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

