Home > News > Zomg. So happy.

Zomg. So happy.

I beat the 3 month flare.

Almost 4 months on SCD, and this is the closest to remission since my initial diagnosis of Crohn’s disease.

I defied 9 lab coats and opted to try the diet before they blasted Remicade-mouse-proteins in my system.  They all told me I would fail.

4 months later, I am as successful as can be.

Yes, there are always going to be hiccups, but that’s with ANY course of treatment, and let’s not forget- Remicade’s success rate sure isn’t ANYWHERE close to 100%.  I’ve had more people tell me that Remicade doesn’t work, as opposed to the Specific Carb Diet.  And let’s not get into what Humira did for me…. I developed immunity after 8 months and got the worst flare my GI has ever seen, while dealing with a life-threatening infection caused by… you guessed it… Humira.  And prednisone and its “moonface” can kiss my butt.

I got my Christmas miracle- control over my disease, with no medication.

I beat the battle over McFlare this time, but I have learned, in treating my IBD, that one can never get too cocky.  My war for “remission” has not yet been won.  Still have to be real meticulous, and cautious.  But I’m so close I can taste it, and it tastes like sweet almond-flour pastries.

Categories: News
  1. 12/26/2011 at 4:38 pm

    Awesome, awesome, & more awesome. I LOVE hearing that you’re doing extremely well! 🙂 That is great news!!!!!! You showed those lab coats a thing or two about what it means to defy the odds & BE HEALTHY with NO meds! Way to go, SCD lady. You rock!!!!! Hope you had a terrific Christmas, cute Jo!!! ❤ HUGS! xoxo

  2. Vicki
    12/26/2011 at 11:25 pm

    I ❤ ❤ ❤ reading this! Your success is music to my ears. It proves that I too am right and that SCD can help so many who before your documentation may have looked at the diet as quackery, only because their "educated" doctors say so. You have followed your own common since and shown that it is OK to buck the system and try what is best for you. F the white lab coats and their intimidation tactics!! You are my hero.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

