Home > News > I’m famous… for poopin’ my pants.

I’m famous… for poopin’ my pants.

So Jordan and Steve posted my podcast which outlines my approach to the Specific Carb Diet. It’s a little half hour session that chronicles my experiences with this diet, and specifics as to what I’m doing to keep me IN CONTROL of my life. Which, btw, I am. In SUPER control. Eat that, Crohn’s disease.

Chickity-Check it out!  Let’s all make fun of Jo for poopin’ her pants

Categories: News
  1. 11/30/2011 at 9:17 pm

    Hi Joanna,

    I just listened to your podcast on SCD lifestyle. Your story sounds a lot like mine, except I was diagnosed back in 2004. I was also on high doses of prednisone (up to 70mg/day and had to taper down by 2.5 mg/week) and every doctor told me food had nothing to do with anything. I was never on Humira or Remicade, but did have surgery almost 4 years ago (8″ of my intestine was removed due to an abscess). I have been on SCD for about a year and a half now, and I have no regrets. Before I started the diet, my SED rate was 22 and my CRP was 34.8. Latest results show a SED rate of 1 and CRP of 0.79. I love the diet, and it doesn’t even seem like a diet anymore. I do have one question for you…I see that you went to Vegas and you mention an ingredient list. Did you provide an ingredient list to the waiter/waitress? I usually just take a lot of time to explain to the waiter/waitress what I cannot have, and then I ask him/her exactly what is in everything that I am ordering…what things are cooked in, is there any sauces, what is in the sauce, etc. Wanted to see though if you had a more efficient way to order 🙂

    Thanks for keeping up this blog – I will definitely be a follower.

    Kristin

    • 11/30/2011 at 10:34 pm

      First of all, thank you for the kind words and sharing your results!!! It means a lot to me, and I’m aspiring to get to that 1 SED rate, lady :).

      As for the ordering food socially, I’m still struggling with that one myself. I usually prelude it with “So sorry to be a pain- but I have a diet condition that restricts what I can eat.” I’ll ONLY order chicken or fish from a restaurant and first ask if it’s marinated. If so, I’ll ask what it’s marinated in. Then the waiter has to go check, lol.

      If it’s not marinated, I’ll just ask them to cook it with LIGHT amounts of olive oil, salt, and pepper. They’re usually able to comply, and I’ll blush a little bit and apologize for being a pain, but most people understand, and if they don’t, oh well, they gotta deal with it.

      If it is marinated, I’ll usually eat it anyway, as long it’s olive oil. Other spices haven’t really bothered me too much.

      Way I see it is, I have a disability, so I have a right to be a pain in the ass to remain healthy 🙂 Any type of bad food could always trigger a flare, so I’m not risking it!

      Thanks so much for following me. I can guarantee I would NOT have success had I not been consistently reaching out to my awesome online community of Chronies and SCDers.

      OH and let’s not forget sides. I ask for cooked carrots, a banana, or an avocado. They usually make a little meal for me, and it’s always cheap! Most I pay for my outdoor dining plates are 8 bucks, while others pay 15-20 for their plates. Food in my belly, money in my pocket!

      • 12/01/2011 at 6:36 pm

        Thanks for the reply. You sound about the same as me when I am ordering…I am very specific with what I order and sometimes the waiter will get annoyed. Oh well, would rather someone be annoyed with me than to be so sick.

  2. celeste dryer
    11/30/2011 at 11:01 pm

    You were awesome. I loved hearing your voice after reading it this whole time. Nice job.

    • 12/01/2011 at 12:48 am

      I ❤ you Celeste. You are my biggest fan. lol!

  3. 11/30/2011 at 11:56 pm

    I have better luck explaining to the server rather than giving them a paper. Sometimes it’s as if they never read the paper.

    • 12/01/2011 at 12:49 am

      Yeah, I have never given a paper. Verbal communication works better. Oh, and hi, Reid!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

