Home > News > Tis the season to be thankful.

Tis the season to be thankful.

Here’s what I’m thankful for:

  • My loving and supportive husband
  • My family, who is also awesome and supportive (sometimes, to a fault)
  • A great job that totally has my back, and tons of career options

But all is not hearts and butterflies.  I have a few bumps that I KNOW are coming my way, and I am scared to death of them, knowing that they are approaching.

  1. The “3 month flare” Elaine talks about.  Coming up in a few weeks.  That’ll be awesome.
  2. The official taper-off of prednisone.  THIS totally scares the heck out of me.  True I’m on low doses, and true that without SCD, prednisone did diddly squat for me in the past (even at high doses of 60 mgs for months on end) but so many people re-flare once they’re completely off of it.  I’m hoping I’ve been on the diet long enough where I can fully taper and be ok.  Here’s my taper off schedule:
  • 11/27 thru 12/4: 10 mgs.
  • 12/5 thru 12/11: 7.5 mgs
  • 12/13 thru 12/18: 5 mgs
  • 12/19 thru 12/25: 2.5 mgs
  • 12/25 thru 1/1: TAPERED OFF TOTALLY BY THE NEW YEAR

Some potentially rough times ahead.  Going to plow through them and figure them out- this I promise you all.

<3,

Jo

Categories: News
  1. 11/23/2011 at 6:45 am

    I think it’s super you are being realistic and prepared for the worst. I think people have trouble because they think they’ve won the battle just when it’s beginning and let their guard down, slip, and make mistakes. When they pay for the consequences they weren’t expecting, it totally crushes their morale and resolve to continue healing. Be strong. Win the day!

  2. 11/23/2011 at 7:36 pm

    Trying! Thanks Reid 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

