Home > News > Look. This is Why I’m Doing It.

Look. This is Why I’m Doing It.

I’m doing the SCD experiment because all I want is to be healthy.  I will do and try anything to have a normal life that does not revolve around stomach pain and / or hospitalizations and / or, the mental toll of not knowing when my next flare is going to rear its ugly head.  And if that means giving up bread, wheat, rice, oats, sugar, gluten, etc etc- HEY, no problem.  I’ll do anything it takes.

During my (soon-to-be-) 2-month journey on SCD, I’ve had ups where I’ve felt great and positive and felt like I could run a marathon, and other times, where I would get frustrated because though I felt like I was getting better, I knew I wasn’t 100%.  I’m STILL not 100%.    And this is causing me to live my life VERY meticulously and cautiously, knowing what my exact levels of inflammation are on a weekly basis and taking action accordingly.  I’m not in remission by any means.  But thankfully, I am stable- which is more than I can say about how I’ve been feeling for MONTHS.  Stable vs. out of control is a huge step up.  Seriously.

While I am so passionate about this experiment, there are times where it takes a toll on my body, mind, and spirit.  It’s not easy being on the defensive in trying to manage your Crohn’s.  I get scared that what my docs say could be totally true– I’m dodging punches, waiting to get knocked out.  On the other side, my option is to go on the “offensive” and blast my body with more TnF blockers… and this treatment could fail just as miserably as the first time I went that route.  That’s what’s so freaking hard about treating IBD- there’s risks in every direction, and you never know what will work for you.

I try not to stress because that could lead to another flare, but then I end up stressing anyway, because I have no idea when “McFlare” will pay me another unwelcome visit.

So As I approach my 2 month anniversary on SCD, here’s my honest-to-god assessment thus far.  I can say that my Crohn’s is in semi-control- FAR better than it has been for months, and that’s when I was on Humira- one of the most popular immunosuppressants used to manage this drug.

I’m doing this diet because I’m happy that I’m stable.  And I’m going to continue and be patient, knowing that this diet takes time and true dedication.  But I want the next step up from “Stable.”  I totally long for the days of “feelin great, EVERYDAY.” Will do everything it takes to get there as naturally as I possibly can.

Categories: News
  1. Ashley
    11/01/2011 at 4:39 am

    I teared up reading this. You really are a hero!

  2. Patrick
    11/01/2011 at 11:15 am

    Thats great Jo! I’m at the same stage as you, coming up to 2 months and I can totally relate to what you are saying. I’m still having more bad days then good but I’m also seeing a gradual decline on the constant pain I used to feel at all times. Like you, I’m definately in a very relentless flare and thus my inflammation is at a high level, but the diet worked for me at 15 putting me in remission do I know this is the right course for me. No meds for me!

    Keep it up!

    I recently did an interview (Podcast 28) with the ScdLifestyle.com site: http://scdlifestyle.com/category/scd-lifestyle-solution-podcast/

    Good health, and screwyoucrohns!
    Patrick

  3. Celeste Dryer
    11/01/2011 at 4:44 pm

    I am SO happy to read your report. I am only three weeks in but have been feeling down for two days. Feel crappy and my head space is WAY negative. Then I wake up and read your words and realize, I am in this 100% too and will not allow a “bad day” take away from the big picture.

    Your journey is an inspiration to me and I appreciate that you are sharing like you do. I feel less alone and more sane reading what you are thinking/doing/feeling.

    Keep it up!

    celeste

  4. Amanda
    11/01/2011 at 5:53 pm

    Good for you! It’s hard to stay the course when progress is slow and it’s so much more convenient just to eat the standard fare of the American diet. This really is a long, slow battle, but it’s the final battle. You want to win the entire marathon, not just the immediate 5km stretch. Keep listening to your gut (pun intended) 🙂

  5. 11/01/2011 at 6:05 pm

    Hi Jo,

    At one point I obsessively weighed myself morning and night each and every day. I thought about what I could do each day to gain weight. For me, being able to gain weight was my way of measuring how healed my intestines was rather than doing blood tests.

    A friend pointed out that I was obsessive about it and it wasn’t helping, I just hope you don’t let the weekly inflammation blood tests put even more stress on you.

    About your offense/defense analogy, I disagree. TNF blockers and the whole immunosuppressive approach is defense. It doesn’t solve the root problem, it’s not active, not offense. SCD and a holistic approach like the 5-R Framework I wrote about recently is much more offense and proactive oriented. Don’t let the docs spin this negatively on you.

  6. APA
    11/01/2011 at 10:39 pm

    Bravo! Keep up that positive thinking and absolutely nothing will be too much of an obstacle for you to handle.

  7. 11/02/2011 at 11:07 pm

    Controlling your emotions is harder than controlling your diet. I have learned that worrying changes nothing, but I have not learned how to NOT worry. Whenever you are feeling down, just remember, a little girl named Genevieve thinks you are totally rad. And she probably loves you more than me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

